Boxing Thunder for Dulcinea

Today, as it rained even harder

on my pitiful parade

of self-sorrow and shame,

I think of how you told me you were scared of thunder

A few hours once before it would rain,

And although you knew there was no sincere threat,

It scared you all the same.

And I return once again to that great night,

When I just held you in my arms

As you slept,

And over us the skies crept,

While I held you just as tight as I could,

ready to take up arms again.

I shout at the skies,

How dare this thunder

attempt to disrupt her slumber!

I will kill every last thunder,

or die in vain!

And I realize now,

While you were asleep,

I was just dreaming,

The rain for you was not

God’s swarming army of angels

rocketing from the skies.

The thunder for you was not a

mad, wild barking Cerberus

and the Devil jealous of our love.

Though I clutched you like some

selfless hero jumping on a grenade

to save his troupe,

that lightning was not aimed at us,

though I could have swore that it was.

And you felt safe,

Not because I was ready to take upon them all,

for you,

ever-willing to play the hero

or the fool,

but because,

just like thunder,

you knew,

I couldn’t even hurt you,

if I tried.

And just then,

I swear,

Somewhere faraway,

As I conceded defeat,

Thunder clapped.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a comment